More Than Meets the Eye

My daughter e-mailed me a picture of the six-month-old daughter of her very good friends. I have not been able to take it off my computer screen. I printed it out, but still it so intrigues me that I can not remove it. I have worked with hundreds of children during my many years of volunteering in our schools, hence I have looked into the eyes of many children. With lots of experience you become aware of the brightness of children. Eyes are the windows of the soul but so much more.

Looking into the eyes of this child are like looking into a world of wonder, amazement and unbridled intelligence. Her mom and dad will realize, if they don’t already, they have a very special child. I know all parents think their child is special, however at this point I don’t believe they can comprehend the unlimited abilities this precious child possesses. This child will tolerate learning nursery rhymes for a short time-the newspaper will replace the nursery rhymes. She will have an appreciation of the arts and music and will be at least two grades ahead in elementary school. This is not a
six-month-old smart kid, this is a six-month-old prodigy.

I will be long gone before she is much more than a toddler, but listen to me-this child will accomplish whatever she desires. She will be an untold joy to those who love her, so treat her accordingly for she will have strong attributes and will not suffer fools. Her accomplishments will be unlimited. Let her wings grow and let her soar; she is so special. To treat her in any less way, would be a tragedy.

3 thoughts on “More Than Meets the Eye

  1. Thank you for these beautiful words. I feel terrible that this is the first time I am commenting on this wonderful blog. I have come to admire your insightful thoughts. They are a true joy to read. This one was especially wonderful to read. I do hope that Trixie gets to meet you soon.

  2. My son, Jeff Lazar, is a friend of Tara,s and told me about your blog. It’s wonderful! I have gone back and read all of your postings. I’d love to be able to express myself as well as you have. I agree with you on almost everything. I plan to keep reading your blog. I’m 78 and my husband is 83.
    Best wishes,
    Audrey

  3. Dear Audrey, it is a pleasure to meet you via this phenomenal computer age. Glad you enjoyed my blogs. Please consider writing yourself. Just pick up your pen, sharpen your pencil, turn on your computer and think about the past and envision the future. I am an advocate of putting down memories for younger family members to read at some point of their lives.

    At our age we have lived the years of the most progressive time in history through research, inventions and dreams and dreamers. Consider sharing your life’s memories of “the way it was.” I promise the words just flow as times and events spring forth. I look forward to hearing more from you. Get writing, I am sure you have much to share. June

Leave a Reply

